WIT GAA club celebrated its achievements for the 2013-14 season in style on Monday 7th of April with the hosting of the 33rd Annual GAA Awards night in the Dome Bar.

In what was a very successful year for the college sporting wise, it was a memorable year for WIT GAA club with the Institute winning its first Fitzgibbon Cup crown in 6 years, winning the All Ireland and Munster Junior Football titles, the Munster Junior hurling title and also a fifth 60×30 A team handball title in a row.

The special guest on the night has a great loyalty and passion for WIT GAA club, as former All Star and past Fitzgibbon Cup winner Ollie Moran attended to present the medals and player of the year awards. Ollie spoke of how he holds great memories and love for WIT GAA and feels that there is a unique bond in WIT compared to other 3rd level colleges, and he noticed this again in the triumphant 2014 winning Fitzgibbon team.

Each year WIT acknowledges those who excelled across the various codes, with the criteria for player of the year awards covering performances, dedication and commitment to their respective teams. This year’s players of the year are.

Fresher Camogie Player of the Year: Laura Tracey

Fresher Hurling Player of the Year: Ciaran O’Brien

Fresher Ladies Football Player of the Year: Eimear Fennell

Fresher Football Player of the Year: Jamie Snell

Junior Football Player of the Year: Ger Malone

Junior Hurling Player of the Year: Tom Doheny

Senior Camogie Player of the Year: Patricia Jackman

Senior Ladies Football Player of the Year: Clara Donnelly

Senior Football Player of the Year: AJ Lehane

Senior Hurling Player of the Year: Paraic Gahan

WIT GAA club has over 630 registered players who competed on 17 different teams in the past year in a total of 147 games across five codes. GAA Development Officer Conor Phelan, closed the night by thanking all the managers and coaches of each of the teams, while he also thank the people who work behind the scenes in WIT GAA Club Executive, the bus drivers, physio’s and the ladies who wash the jerseys, without this help it would be impossible to field teams each year.