SOME OF THE leading GAA players in the country discovered their early season assignments in 2017 when the draws for next year’s Sigerson, Trench and Fitzgibbon Cup took place.

Here’s the draws in full.

Sigerson Cup

(First team named at home)

Preliminary Round – 25/26 January

NUI Galway v Trinity College

Garda College v Cork IT

GMIT v IT Sligo

Round Two – 25/26/31 January

  1. UL v Maynooth University
  2. Athlone IT v Dublin IT
  3. Garda College/Cork IT v UUJ
  4. GMIT/IT Sligo v UCD
  5. Queen’s University v DCU
  6. NUIG/Trinity College v St Mary’s
  7. IT Carlow v IT Tralee
  8. St Pat’s Drumcondra v UCC

Quarter-Finals – 8 February

Semi-Finals – 17 February – Connacht GAA Centre, Bekan

Final – 18 February – Connacht GAA Centre, Bekan

WIT's Frank McGrath and Jack Langton contest a high ball with DCU's Sean Gray during their Fitzgibbon Cup match played in Carriganore Photo Maurice Hennebry

Fitzgibbon Cup

Group A: IT Carlow, Mary I, GMIT, DIT

Group B: UL, NUIG, DCU St Patrick’s, CIT

Group C: DCU, LIT, Trinity, WIT

Group D: UCD, UCC, University Ulster, Maynooth University

Round 1 – Tuesday 24 January

Round 2 – Thursday 2 February

Round 3 – Tuesday 7 January

Quarter-Finals – 14 February

Semi-Finals – 24 February – NUI Galway

Final – 25 February – NUI Galway








Trench Cup

Quarter Final

8th Feb 2017- WIT V Mary I/ IT Tallaght