Waterford Institute of Technology’s presence and influence across Gaelic Games at a national level in 2016 has been very noticeable. In total there are 32 past and present WIT students on the respective playing panels that won All Ireland medals in 2016 and a further 4 members on the backroom management teams.

To honour this huge achievement, WIT GAA Club is paid tribute to these 37 past members on securing these prestigious national titles on Monday 3 October, at the WIT Arena

WIT honours 2016 All Ireland medal winning students.

Along with the players, the prestigious cups, including the All Ireland Senior Hurling Cup- Liam McCarthy, the All Ireland Senior Camogie Cup- O’Duffy, The All Ireland Minor Cup and the All Ireland Under 21 Hurling Cup- James Nowlan, were on show on the night.

For the record these players are as follows: 

Carlow Junior Camogie team

Ciara Quirke

Mairead O’Shea (current student)

Michelle Nolan (current student)

Niamh O’Loughlin (current student)


Kilkenny Intermediate Camogie team:

Aine Fahy (capt)

Keeva Fennelly

Mary Corcoran (current student)

Noelle Maher


Kilkenny Senior Camogie Team:

Aine Gannon (current student)

Ann Dalton

Ann Marie Lennon

Colette Dormer

Denise Gaule (current student)

Edwina Keane

Jacqui Frisby

Julieann Malone (current student)

Katie Power

Meighan Farrell, (current student)

Michelle Quilty (capt)

Miriam Walsh (current student)

Sarah Ann Quinlan (current student)

Sarah Crowley (current student)

Shelly Farrell


Tipperary Senior Hurling Team:

Tomas Hamill

Conor O’Brien


Tipperary Minor Hurling Team:

Michael Whelan  (current student)


Waterford Under 21 Hurling Team:

Austin Gleeson

Willie Hahessy (Current Student)

Barry Whelan

Gavin Power (Current Student)

Robbie Flynn (Current Student)


Meath Under 21 Hurling Team:

David Reilly


Kildare Ladies Football Team:

Michaela Nolan  (current student)


Management of the Kilkenny Senior Camogie team:

Ann Downey

Paddy Mullally

Conor Phelan


Backroom Management of the Tipperary senior Hurling team:

Damien Young