On Friday morning our Ladies Football Team made the long journey to Mayo to compete in this year’s O’Connor Cup Weekend. First up for the girls was a meeting with old rivals UUJ in the Semi Final of the competition. While the girls beat them in the League Final earlier this year, WIT knew not to take the Northern side for granted. From the off, UUJ hit our girls hard and scored 4 points without reply until WIT’s corner forward Niamh Treacy got the ball rolling with a fine goal in the 10th minute. However, the next 10 minutes saw UUJ push on and score 2.5. It has to be said that WIT were lucky to only be down 5 points at the break (WIT 1.4, UUJ 2.6). Inspirational words from manager Kieran McGuire and Captain Aine Byrne at half time worked a treat and from the first minute of the second half the comeback was on with fine scores from Mairead Daly and Laura Fitzgerald along with some incredible saves from goalkeeper Aoife McCauliffe. However as the game entered into injury time UUJ’s two point lead was looking promising until WIT’s Mairead Daly powered through the Northern defence in the 31st minute and was awarded a penalty. Daly bravely stood over the ball and slotted it to the back of the net meaning our girls were now a point ahead. The game finished WIT 2.8, UUJ 2.7 thus setting us up with an All-Ireland Final meeting with DIT. After the game the team went back to the Mc William hotel for a recovery session and to put preparations in place for the final the following day.

On Sunday, WIT made no mistake and ensured they were ready for battle from the off. The girls put serious pressure on the DIT defence and lead by 14 points at the break (WIT 1.14, DIT 0.03). The second half saw DIT make a small comeback scoring two fine goals however WIT continued to plug away at the scoreboard and the game ended 1.17 to 2.09. As a panel, the girls showed great character and belief over the entire weekend which ultimately lead to their wonderful successes both in League and Championship this year. A special mention to Captain Aine Byrne, Niamh Moore, Mairead Daly and Lorraine Bray for their unbelievable work ethic throughout both games. WIT GAA Club would also like to give a sincere thank you to Manager Kieran McGuire along with his Coach Karen Mullins and Selector Amanda Scallan for all their commitment and efforts with the team. #McGuireonfire

No Name Club County
1 Aoife McAuliffe St Martins Wexford
2 Aileen Sheehan Rathmore Kerry
3 Sharon  Towey Kilmore Shamrocks Mayo
4 Jodie Nugent Comeragh Rangers Waterford
5 Emma Murray Comeragh Rangers Waterford
6 Michaela Nolan Castledermot Kildare
7 Laura Quirke Bride Rovers Cork
8 Shauna Dunphy Comeragh Rangers Waterford
9 Niamh Moore Kilmore Wexford
10 Sarah Banville Taghmon/ Camross Wexford
11 Laura Fitzgerald Mourne Abbey Cork
12 Mairead Daly St Ryanaghs Offaly
13 Aleisha Cullen Crossabeg/Ballymurn Wexford
14 Nora Walsh Killeagh Cork
15 Aine Byrne (Captain) Tinahely Wicklow
16 Miriam Walton Ballingarry Tipperary
17 Lorraine Bray Cappaquin Waterford
18 Nicole Fortune Bunclody Wexford
19 Katie Murray Comeragh Rangers Waterford
20 Aine Buggy Muckalee Kilkenny
21 Julie McLoughlin Clanngaels Westmeath
22 Niamh Treacy Templemore Tipperary
23 Paula Faulkner Baltingglass Wicklow
24 Rachel Kelly Timahoe Laois
25 Breda Martin Ballyporeen Tipperary
26 Louise Hogan Clounmacon Kerry
27 Louise Collins Clonakilty Cork
28 Deirbhle Hennessy Cappawhite Tipperary
29 Aine O’ Reilly Arklow/Geraldines Ballymoney Wicklow
30 Marie Byrne St Conleths Laois
31 Tina Cullen Adamstown Wexford
32 Mairead O’Sheach St. Mullins Carlow
33 Emma Byrne Eadestown Kildare